Why Write

If you ask many bloggers and even many writers of novels why they write, you will hear them respond that it is to persuade. That doesn’t sum it up for everyone of course, but it is a sensible reason for most writing.

Pater Edmund recently reminded me, though, that writing is especially useful for helping us clarify our own thinking:

But when I think about why I began this blog it seems to me that my main purpose was not so much to teach, sway, or delight my readers, but rather to clarify my own thoughts.

In a sense, it is still a matter of persuasion, in that one wants to persuade oneself to think a certain way, a way that is not yet known to the self.

That sums up a lot of why I write. I’ve found that I haven’t been doing enough of it for the past several months. Not that I have to blog everything I want to clarify my thinking on, but I haven’t even been using my little notebooks. I plan to restart being more regular about this.